Antique Jewel Box

Floor space

220м²

Ceiling height

3,5м

Bedrooms

3

The Idea

The Idea

The apartment is located in a building constructed in the early 20th century in the historic center of Moscow. We tried to restore in every detail the original layout, architectural features, divided-light windows, door designs, and even interior decoration elements and lighting. Our aim was to create all at once comfortable and functional ‘museum-like city apartment’ that would be a daily delight to the eye in contrast to the dull Moscow routine.

During the project we have faced the challenging task of combining Art nouveau-style living space and client’s strong passion for the French culture, including fabrics, chinaware, and the atmosphere in general. 

The Interior

We managed to keep the most of the historic decoration elements integrating them into the renovation project. Original plasterwork luckily for us was restorable so we managed to return the authentic look of the ceiling roses in all of the rooms. (Unfortunately the modern combined extract and input ventilation made us introduce the additional decorative perimeter molding).

The walls are in general covered with vinyl wallpaper. Textile wallpaper was used in the bedroom. Kitchen and bathroom have pargeting. Flooring is made of oak parquet boards with different laying designs in each room. Walls of the bathroom are also covered with ceramic tiles (Devon&Devon British brand).

Furniture

We restored the antique buffet with peacocks and gave it the center stage in the dining room. Design of the buffet is followed by the large dining table and bureau. The set was made to order by Bazzi Company. The tabletop is decorated with a couple of swans. All the furniture is solid, carved, and scaled to the spacious interiors with high ceilings.

Lighting

During the project we faced the issue of combining history and modernity in design and arrangement of the lighting. It was a big challenge that we really enjoyed solving! Our priority was to keep the historic elements. In each room we came up with two lighting plans: ceiling light and lamps on bedside cabinets (not even in all of the bedrooms).

All the chandeliers in the apartment are antique, unfortunately not authentic for this location that would have been fantastic luck. Most of them are not even made in Russia. For example, chandeliers in the living room, dining room and in the kitchen are French from the 1920’s in Art Deco style.

Colors

In this project, fabrics determine the color palette. The walls in all rooms are neutral and serve as a kind of clean canvas. The general color range is warm and saturated. The main rooms are dominated by the autumn palette. Children's rooms are designed in spring colors. For example, the combination of ash pink and pearl gray is very refreshing!

Fabrics and décor

We started to work on this apartment, looking through catalogs of several European brands: Lelievre, Tassinari et Chatel and Watts of Westminster. Becoming artists for a time, we decided to use these fabrics to create a unique, colorful and fresh image.

While decorating windows, we created for each of them a unique “outfit,” based on the historical prints. For the children’s rooms, we picked playful curtains with a red lining and bows, and for the cabinet the choice was the opposite – reserved and rigorous.

Other posts

Антикварная шкатулка

Площадь

220м²

Высота потолков

3,5м

Спален

3

Идея

Идея

Квартира располагается в историческом центре Москвы , в доме постройки начала 20 века. Мы постарались полностью восстановить оригинальную планировку, архитектурные элементы, расстекловку окон, рисунок дверей и даже предметы интерьера и освещение. Нашей целью было создание комфортного и вместе с тем функционального «городского дома как маленького музея», который бы радовал глаз каждый день в противовес таким серым московским будням.

Перед нами также стояла достаточно сложная задача соединить жилое пространство эпохи модерна и страстную любовь заказчика к французской культуре: тканям, фарфору, самой атмосфере в целом.  

Отделка помещений

Нам удалось максимально сохранить исторические элементы декора, вписав их в проект. Оригинальная лепнина подлежала реставрации, что не могло не радовать. В итоге получилось восстановить потолочные розетки во всех комнатах. (К сожалению, из-за современной приточно-вытяжной вентиляции пришлось дополнительно сделать декоративные карнизы по периметру).

Стены в основном оклеены виниловыми обоями. В спальне мы использовали текстильные обои. Стены кухни и ванной комнаты покрыты декоративной штукатуркой. Пол выложен дубовой паркетной доской, но рисунок кладки во всех помещениях разный. Стены ванной комнаты также отделаны керамической плиткой (английского бренда Devon&Devon).

Мебель

Нам удалось отреставрировать старинный буфет с павлинами. Он занял центральное место в столовой. Декор буфета поддержан большим обеденным столом и комодом. Гарнитур выполнен на заказ фирмой Bazzi. На столешнице красуется пара лебедей. Вся мебель массивная, резная, но сомасштабная просторным помещениям с высокими потолками.

Мягкая мебель в гостиной выполнена на заказ фабрикой Les Classique. Диваны и кресла обиты французским штампованными бархатами (Lelievre). Рисунки, датирующиеся XVIII-XIX веком, мы выбирали по архивным каталогам.

Главную спальню украшает трехметровое изголовье кровати (Bazzi), обитое тканью от мануфактуры Tassinari et Chatel. Детские спальни выполнены на фабрике Jumbo Collection.

Библиотека в кабинете – от фабрики Turati.

Свет

Мы столкнулись с серьезной проблемой развития световых сценариев: как совместить исторический пласт и современность? Но нас это не остановило! Нашим приоритетом было сохранение исторических элементов. В каждой комнате мы сделали 2 сценария освещения: верхний свет и бра на прикроватных тумбочках (даже не во всех спальнях).

Все люстры в квартире – антикварные. К сожалению, не из этого дома, что было бы фантастической удачей. Многие даже и не из России. Например, люстры в гостиной, столовой и кухне – французские, эпохи ар-деко, 1920-х годов.

Цвет

В данном проекте за цвет «отвечает» текстиль. Стены во всех помещениях – нейтральные и играют роль своего рода чистого холста. Общая цветовая гамма – теплая, насыщенная. В основных помещениях преобладает осенняя палитра. Детские комнаты решены в весенних тонах. Так освежает сочетание пепельно-розового и жемчужно-серого!  

Текстиль и декор

Мы начали работу над этой квартирой, просматривая каталоги нескольких европейских брендов: Lelievre, Tassinari et Chatel и Watts of Westminster. И, уподобившись художникам, с помощью этих тканей мы создали неповторимый, яркий и свежий образ.

Декорируя окна, мы изучали каталоги гравюр, и для каждого создали свой «наряд». В детских – игривые шторы с красной подкладкой и бантиками, в кабинете же, наоборот, – все по-мужски строго.

Другие записи